Welcome to Ms. Battle's first grade classroom blog!

Welcome Back!

August 1, 2017

Dear families,

 

Welcome to first grade! I am so excited to be your child’s teacher this year!  This is my 7th year at Jackson, and I am beginning my 13th year of teaching primary grades.  I am originally from Birmingham, Alabama.  I attended Auburn University (War Eagle!) where I studied elementary education.  I also hold a master’s degree in Reading Language, and Literacy from Georgia State University.  I am looking forward to getting to know each one of you this year as well!

 

Jackson has a phenomenal PTA!  I strongly encourage each of you to take advantage of this wonderful opportunity.  I welcome volunteers in the classroom, so please do not hesitate to contact me if you are interested.  We can always use parent help with reading time, party planning, field trips and Helping Hands.  If you have any special talents or skills you would like to share with our classroom please let me know!

 

Communication will play an important role between home and school.  Your child will receive a homework folder on the first day of school that will help us to communicate.  Email is a wonderful way to reach me. You can typically reach me during school hours at ebattle@atlanta.k12.ga.us.  Your child will be responsible for turning in any notes sent from home each morning.

 

Homework will not be given the first week as we all adjust to the new school year routine.  Homework will begin the 2nd week of school and will be sent home in your child’s homework folder.  Please check the homework folder every day for important notes and information.  First graders are building independence, but it is appropriate to review homework at home with your child.

 

I believe in challenging my students to be the best they can be in all aspects—emotionally, socially, academically, and culturally.  I want your child to leave first grade with confidence and with a deep love of learning.  I will expect the best out of your child as well as myself.  It is going to be a fabulous first grade year!

 

Sincerely,

Ellen Battle

Leave a comment